06
Aug
09

Pen Sketches

Inspired by reference photos; both of these sketches have lines that would usually be erased, but as I sketched them with a pen and I intended them as studies and not finished drawings I've left these lines in the sketch.

Inspired by reference photos, both of these sketches have lines that would usually be erased, but as I sketched them with a pen and I intended them as studies and not finished drawings I've left these lines in the sketches.

drinking water and sitting on a jerrycan

2 Responses to “Pen Sketches”


  1. 7 August 2009 at 7:35 am

    You know my opinion, I like the lines in the sketches because they suggest movement. I like to see something of the artist’s hands in their work. I like to think that anyone viewing artwork for any period of time would begin to look longer at drawings like this than those that looked like a stamped replica of a photo. Example…..The line in the guy’s face drinking from the cup suggests movement of the head upward. The lines in the guy’s face and neck in the top one suggest that he just lifted his head and turned it like he may have been looking at the ground and heard a noise. Good job, K.

  2. 7 August 2009 at 11:38 pm

    Love the hybrid style — thick, contrasty lines but “sketchy” in a way that implies movement, additional detail, texture. Like some of you recent ones, I could read a whole book done in this style.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

