17
Aug
09

Another After Mauldin

 

Another reference sketch from a drawing by Bill Mauldin, this time with a bit more of my own style thrown in

Another reference sketch from a drawing by Bill Mauldin, this time with a bit more of my own style thrown in

5 Responses to “Another After Mauldin”


  1. 1 jeffrey
    17 August 2009 at 7:23 pm

    I just got Bill Mauldins book “up front” and compairing your drawings and his u got his style spot on!

  2. 17 August 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Yes.I like your own style much better. I think it’s that idea of movement don’t you? You give the viewer some room to answer some of their own questions about your figures. This guy looks “dog-tired”. I think I would be, too, if I’d seen the things they saw and had to do the things that were asked of them. Nice drawing, K.

  3. 3 kswann
    18 August 2009 at 8:24 am

    Thanks Leslie. I do agree, movement is key in drawings like this. I like allowing the viewer to participate in the drawing, and I’m glad you’re able to relate with the characters, that’s one of the reasons why I’m doing the book—they aren’t just actors or isolated characters caught up in a storyline, they’re people like the rest of us, just happened to be there during the war. Glad that comes through.

  4. 4 kswann
    18 August 2009 at 8:25 am

    Thanks! And enjoy the book; the pictures and words both are amazing.

  5. 19 August 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I can feel his slouch! Great pose.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

