02
Sep
09

Second Flagraising

 

A drawing both Fallweiss ( fallweiss.wordpress.com ) and I did to see how we would each handle the details of the people and their equipment.

A drawing both Fallweiss ( fallweiss.wordpress.com ) and I did to see how we would each handle the details of the people and their equipment.Using the same pen but not drawing it in pencil first, I sketched it again. Here's the men (I did this sketch larger than the first one, and my scanner won't fit the entire picture).

5 Responses to “Second Flagraising”


  1. 1 fallweiss
    2 September 2009 at 8:43 pm

    Oh wow.. thats amazing. the helmet on harlon block (very right) is a little big on the brim but excellent!!! the ink on the hands isnt overdone at all!!!

    Now im guessing you go and put the darkest parts of the picture in pen and then lighter shadows with pencil or just lighter pen strokes or whatever you call it?

    The gear is all there and i can see what it all is. Youve done marines before right?

    And one more q to finsih up my comment. You have been through college art already right? If so im guessin its good to be in!

  2. 2 fallweiss
    2 September 2009 at 8:44 pm

    oh yeah thanks for the mentioning of my blog!

  3. 2 September 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Hi K. I’m still enjoying watching you create these figures. I like this, but it’s so like just an illustration. I don’t get the movement, the commotion and the energy from these silhouette type drawings that I get from your ones that you work up from gesture. I wonder what this would look like rendered the other way? I guess it’s just because I know you can do it….

  4. 5 kswann
    3 September 2009 at 11:16 pm

    Once I captured the gestures with a pencil I finished it with an ink pen, so it does have the illustration quality, but I’ll sketch one with a pen and see what that looks like, it’ll be interesting to see the difference, see which one captures the men better.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

