24
Oct
09

Different Styles

I'm experimenting with different styles, and although I need to tighten up my line work for this kind of a style, this is a possibility.  Some of these faces are drawn after drawings by Everett Raymond Kinstler.

I'm experimenting with different styles, and although I need to tighten up my line work for this kind of a style, this is a possibility. Some of these faces are drawn after drawings by Everett Raymond Kinstler.

This is another style with which I'm experimenting.

This is another style with which I'm experimenting. Of course, I need to work on it if I go with this style, but it's yet another possibility.

5 Responses to “Different Styles”


  1. 24 October 2009 at 12:39 am

    its been a while since bumped into you.
    As usual your drawings are excellent

  2. 24 October 2009 at 9:09 am

    I like them, both, K. It is really up to you. I am somewhat drawn to the inkline and wash, but what I miss in both are those wonderful cross contours you use in a lot of your previous studies that change your work from illustrative to artistic. But, I don’t know a lot about illustration and really love it when I see the artist’s whole process in a piece.

  3. 3 kswann
    24 October 2009 at 9:56 am

    Thanks, and I’ve definitely been neglecting the blog so I’ll be putting up more work more frequently again. And thanks Leslie, I was thinking maybe it would be neat if I could combine the cross contours of my studies and the inkline and wash? Not sure how I could do that but I’ll play around with it and see what I can do. Might make for interesting visuals with both weight and movement.

  4. 4 kswann
    24 October 2009 at 9:58 am

    Also, Kseverny, is it okay if I put a link to your blog on mine? I do like your work.

  5. 24 October 2009 at 12:52 pm

    I don’t know if I’m helping you or not but I scrolled through some of your work again. Where I see you coming through as an artist are in drawings like “soldier with a pup in his jacket”, “lighting a cigarette”, “paratrooper”. There are many more but those I’ll site as some examples of what I’m referring to. Because they show your rendering from the beginning to the end, they seem to have a life (recognize that this may only be my personal opinion). For me they move and transport me to think and feel something about that situation or figure. It seems there is no beginning or end to war even though we give the wars separate names and divide them by periods of rest. These figures I’ve cited as examples reflect that to me. I like the idea of ink wash. I’m a watercolorist so inkwashes are cool. Maybe try to use them as value to separate and give depth rather than to just shading in the subject? Just trying to help. Sure wish more artists were responding to this wonderful project you have going here.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

