15
Nov
09

warming up: ink

 

Warming Up:  Ink

I think I ought to do one more layer, a darker ink wash?

 

 

4 Responses to “warming up: ink”


  1. 15 November 2009 at 4:49 pm

    I love seeing the development in this. My only suggestion would have been to vary your values. In this one, leave the figure like he is and the far background trees. In the middle ground which is the barn shapes lighten the shadows behind his head and the right side of the big barn should maybe be lit like the right side of the smaller building. You could put it in photoshop and see if lightening that area would help.It’s just a division of space thing. If it makes it look more like daytime, and you don’t want that, you could leave it like it is and lighten his face because he’s staring into the fire. It is just that the values on his face and head blend with the barn behind him and that is really an area the viewer should be able to see. Love the composition and I know you tried to separate his head with a dark line. Just need a different value between the two.

  2. 2 kswann
    16 November 2009 at 8:39 am

    I see what you mean, that’s a good point; I’ll play around with it in Photoshop. Thanks Leslie!

  3. 16 November 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I hope you do know that I am completely into this project of yours and admire your passion and work very much! It is refreshing watching someone carry their dream project to fruition.

  4. 17 November 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Love it. I agree with Leslie — my eye doesn’t see enough contrast between the man’s head and the barn + trees in the distance.

    I love the inked edges on the figure, they really hold my eyes’ attention.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

