06
Feb
10

Mealtime…

just a quick sketch showing my idea of a soldier eating when he hears action nearby

2 Responses to “Mealtime…”


  1. 7 February 2010 at 10:26 am

    You’re back! Hurray! This is a cool sketch, K. I like the attention to the searching eye and the eating being secondary to what is really going on here. This is what I like best, where I can see your entire process on the page. Do you think artists only appreciate that? At an early age, before I started drawing, I gravitated to drawings like this. It seemed to give more life to a form than a photograph can. Maybe it’s the suggestion of movement.

  2. 2 kswann
    8 February 2010 at 8:57 am

    Thanks Leslie! I’m not sure if only artists only appreciate that, I know I do. I always loved looking at etchings as a kid, some of which are real sketchy but that do seem to give more life than a photograph. I think it is the suggestion of movement, but also just that, a “suggestion” rather than a snapshot, so that, rather than trying to be a perfect image at which to look and accept as being completely life-like, it allows the viewer’s mind to figure out what’s going on and think about it. To fill in the gaps so to speak, which means more viewer participation, which is always a good thing.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

