12
Apr
10

Leaving the Transport

from reference, just a study of all his gear

6 Responses to “Leaving the Transport”


  1. 12 April 2010 at 9:32 pm

    I was going through withdrawal from no soldier drawings, K! 🙂 I like this one, especially that left hand. He does have a ton of gear!

  2. 2 kswann
    13 April 2010 at 7:47 am

    Thanks Leslie! I know, I’m going to try to put up a lot more of my sketches, hopefully one a day, we’ll see how long I can keep it up, just been busy on the story and a couple of other projects. But please keep commenting because your critiques sure help.

  3. 4 kswann
    16 April 2010 at 7:31 am

    I’m not completely sure actually. It’s interesting in the original photo (which gives the year as 1945) that none of the soldiers are wearing leggings of any kind. And the land on which they’re landing seems to be very thin as they’re coming onto the land from water and there’s water visible in front of them too.

  4. 16 April 2010 at 11:17 am

    Do you have a link to the original somewhere? The reason I thought it’s PTO is that the Carlisle bandage pouch appears to be hanging from a jungle first aid kit. The lack of leggings could be due to troops not tucking their pants in sometimes and just letting them hang over the leggings (or double buckle boots, if it’s late in the war).

  5. 6 kswann
    18 April 2010 at 3:08 pm

    That’s a good point about the jungle first aid kit. The thing about the shoes is they aren’t double buckle boots and the men don’t have leggings on at all.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

