07
May
10

Snow

From reference

6 Responses to “Snow”


  1. 7 May 2010 at 8:13 am

    Contrasty! Like the shading and the composition. The outlining works well.

  2. 7 May 2010 at 6:24 pm

    This makes me feel cold. Your drawings help me realize all they went through as soldiers in WWII.

  3. 3 kswann
    8 May 2010 at 11:44 am

    Thanks Matt! I thought the outlining worked well too, think the lead soldier might be too dark but I liked showing both of them. And thanks Leslie, that’s quite a compliment. That’s definitely my intention, even though I obviously wasn’t there either…

  4. 8 May 2010 at 11:55 am

    I back Matt on this. Your lead soldier is not too dark as he is where the eye is directed because he is doing something and because he is in a focal area. The guy on the left is in the lower left focal area and directs our attention to the action taken place with the other guy. The line of brush helps to enhance that feeling of depth and frame the scene, nicely, holding our eyes on the page. This is excellent use of composition in my opinion. I’m just worried because they are in an open field! YIKES!

  5. 5 kswann
    8 May 2010 at 2:39 pm

    I’m glad the composition does work, that makes sense what you said about where your eye is led, and yes, the open field is a scary thought!

  6. 14 May 2010 at 11:16 am

    Kelly, And this sketch – also very well done!!
    Jan


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

