02
Jun
10

Jeep Sketch

Quick pencil sketch from reference; the "snow" chains on the front tires are for the mud

7 Responses to “Jeep Sketch”


  1. 3 June 2010 at 10:31 am

    Hi Kelly, A great sketch – I love it!
    Years ago I had to do a sketch of a 1939 Jeep for somebody. With shovel and long axe fixed to the side. They took the Jeep plus it’s little trailer out of the war museum for me to photograph before doing the sketch. Wonderful!
    And I really enjoy your blog!
    Have a great day.
    Jan

  2. 3 June 2010 at 8:39 pm

    That jeep is so cool. Your darks are done so well as to really bring it to my attention. Is what is laying across the hood there for camouflage?

  3. 3 kswann
    6 June 2010 at 3:17 pm

    Thanks Leslie! I think that’s canvas or another kind of material on the hood there to cover the windshield that’s down.

  4. 4 kswann
    6 June 2010 at 3:20 pm

    Hi Jan,
    That’s awesome! That would have been amazing to get to be around an actual Jeep and get to take a picture then sketch it like you do. I bet that’s a neat sketch!
    And I’m really enjoying the sketches on your blog!
    Kelly

  5. 13 June 2010 at 4:02 am

    Hi Kelly,
    It was wonderful.
    That was done in a stipple ( color ) effect 19 years ago!
    And the owner paid me and I’ve never seen him or the sketch again.
    I wish I kept the photographs I took of the Jeep ( about 100 ! )
    Enjoy your Sunday.
    And keep up your great art!
    Jan

  6. 16 June 2010 at 10:07 am

    These are so cool. I’m thinking of doing a world war painting similar to those in the 60’s and 70’s war movie posters and this just fires me up even more. Very nice work!

  7. 7 kswann
    17 June 2010 at 8:20 am

    Thank you! That would be a neat painting, some of those posters are pretty colorful and the possibilities are endless. You have good work up on your blog, those are neat paintings. I especially like the snow lane, feels like I’m right there.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

