11
Jan
11

gun crew – pencil

Not a finished pencil drawing, just a quick pencil sketch to ink from reference

4 Responses to “gun crew – pencil”


  1. 1 Kevin "Tiny" Dawson
    13 January 2011 at 3:09 pm

    Kelly,
    I found your site by accident, as I was looking for various pencil sketches of WWII soldiers, sailors, airmen, and marines. I am currently in a drawing class, in which we are required to constantly sketch. I wanted to put together a sketch book of American WWII servicemen and women. As I was looking for ideas and references for the class,I came across your drawings, and all I can say is OUTSTANDING work! I have been drawing and painting for over 35 years, but most of my work has been of objects or landscapes. Your work is very accurate, showing clear evidence of your research and attention to detail; I am looking forward to your book! I hope all goes well with it and I would be very interested in getting updates, just to see the progress. I have been a reenactor/living historian since 1978, and have participated in many different time periods, but I still feel an attachment to the WWII era because we can still talk to veterans that were “there”. However, we are losing them very fast. I am a veteran of the army and my wife and I have a vast collection of uniforms, equipment/gear, firearms, etc. This collection ranges from the Civil War to today’s military. We use this collection as an educational tool, where we travel literally all over the country to various veteran reunions, history seminars, school history classes, etc. We hope that by presenting these demonstrations and lectures, that we can educate the American public about the sacrifices these men and women made for us. I hope that everything goes well for you and you have great success with your book. Keep up the GREAT work!
    Kevin “Tiny” Dawson
    Curator – Mid-Atlantic Veterans Museum

  2. 13 January 2011 at 9:12 pm

    Look at all those guys! This one is just plain fun to take in how you put this together. The guy on the lower left stands out nicely due to the fact he is helmetless and seems caught with a suggestion of movement to his raised arm. Good one, K!

  3. 3 kswann
    16 January 2011 at 12:25 pm

    Mr. Dawson,
    I’m so glad that you found my blog and that you find it interesting and even helpful; I’m trying to get details correct but there’s still so much to learn, and it’s reassuring to hear that the details are coming across alright, especially from you since you know the history and equipment. I checked out the Mid-Atlantic Veterans Museum’s website and it looks like a wonderful source of information. One of the reasons why I’m doing my book is because my friends don’t know too much about the particular part of WWII I’m trying to show, so I really admire what you and your wife do.
    It’s interesting that you usually do landscapes; those are the hardest for me. What drawing and painting media do you usually use; charcoal, graphite, acrylic, oil?
    Thanks for your support, and I hope to put more book-related posts up soon so I’ll be interested in what you think.
    Kelly Swann

  4. 4 Kevin "Tiny" Dawson
    18 January 2011 at 9:55 am

    Ms. Swann,
    Thank you for your kind comments, although I think that you found the website for another musuem, as we do not have a website up and running at this time. As for your detail work, I think that it looks great, even if you feel that you still need to improve, just remember this: ALL artists are their own worst critics. Your style draws people into the picture and they automatically want to know the person, not what type of gun or web gear they are wearing. As for landscapes, I personally find them easier to draw and paint, as the details on a person are too easy to mess up. In my opinion. I like to use pencil, and some charcoal for drawing, I rarely use pen and ink. When I paint, I like to use acrylics, just for the simple fact that it dries more quickly and I can continue on to other parts of the painting in a shorter time. They also have a wide variety of colors and are easy to mix. Please keep me informed of any updates on the book, and by the way, great job on the searching for mines sketch, once again, great work.
    Thanks,
    Kevin Dawson


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

