21
Jan
11

“Finger Painting”

This started as a study of the Dave Tough photo, was done on a painting app for the ipad where you can draw with your finger and use a whole variety of media; thanks to M&A for letting me play!

4 Responses to ““Finger Painting””


  1. 22 January 2011 at 1:07 pm

    What fun! You know, I have always wanted to get my fingers into some of what I do, but have never jumped in and done it. This is done on an Ipad? A lot less messy for sure. Your lines behind the portrait remind me of “The Scream”. 🙂 Fun post, K!

  2. 2 kswann
    28 January 2011 at 8:33 pm

    You should definitely try it! When I draw I often think of sculpting, but with a pencil or pen — marks on a piece of paper rather than fingers on clay. But with finger painting on a screen it’s even closer to sculpting. Different, obviously, but it is fun. Hadn’t thought of “The Scream” when I was doing it, but that’s a good point…

  3. 3 Dylan
    12 February 2011 at 10:49 pm

    I love this, the emotion you evoke is amazing, reminds me of Humphrey Bogart.

  4. 4 kswann
    19 February 2011 at 3:03 pm

    Thanks! I hadn’t thought of that exactly, but it does have a film noir feeling, doesn’t it?


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

