10
Mar
11

Smokin’

Another case of seeing a picture and making a non-soldier a soldier...quick pen sketch.

4 Responses to “Smokin’”


  1. 11 March 2011 at 5:03 pm

    This one looks a little more soldier-like with his growth of beard, K.

  2. 2 kswann
    11 April 2011 at 8:34 pm

    Yeah, he’s been out in the field for a while; the previous sketch of the four look a bit more like fresh recruits, or soldiers on R&R, or something like that.

  3. 3 Ian
    4 February 2012 at 5:15 pm

    That’s totally Tom Waits.
    -Ian M.

  4. 4 kswann
    4 February 2012 at 5:30 pm

    🙂 Don’tcha remember? I was visiting, and you had one of his albums with Shelly Manne on it, and I really liked the image on the cover so I drew it, only naturally he became a soldier. That is a neat album. By the way, I think you drew a zombie while I was drawing Waits as a soldier. Seems pretty typical, eh?


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

