24
Mar
11

Medic

Quick pencil sketch from photo reference

4 Responses to “Medic”


  1. 25 March 2011 at 6:17 am

    This one tells a strong story, K. I like how you faded out the soldier’s legs who is being treated. This keeps the eye from wandering.

  2. 2 Jan
    29 March 2011 at 12:44 am

    Beautiful sketch, Kelly!
    I look at all the faces; the medic, the old woman, the little girl and the girl looking back at me, but I am very worried about the man on the stretcher! One can see he is unconscious.
    Your sketch tells the story.
    Very well done!

  3. 3 kswann
    29 March 2011 at 8:40 pm

    I’ve long seen the photo from which this is referenced, changed it just a tad, and it always affected me. It’s in Sicily too, and that’s one of the locations of my story.

  4. 4 kswann
    11 April 2011 at 8:31 pm

    Thanks Jan! It’s an amazing reference photo I sketched from, and unlike your work I didn’t take the photo myself, so I didn’t do too much in choosing the story, just re-portraying it, but hopefully doing reference from such photos I’ll be able to continue to capture some truth and feeling of what happened. And I’m glad the story came through the sketch.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

