27
Jul
11

Faces

4 Responses to “Faces”


  1. 27 July 2011 at 9:22 pm

    These are cool studies, K. I need to take the time to do some of this. I purchased a book full of tons of photo references of people’s expressions and have only used it a couple of times. I like it that you took the time to render the back of one guy’s head and did profiles and three quarter views, too. What is the difference in the bumpy helmet for? Is he German? or did we have different helmets for different purposes?

  2. 2 kswann
    27 July 2011 at 9:44 pm

    Thanks, Leslie! I look forward to seeing your studies, expressions are so fun to do. The bumpy helmet is a poorly rendered helmet-with-netting. I’ve played around how to draw the netting, and this method, drawing the holes instead of drawing the lines of the actual netting, isn’t the best because you’re right it does look bumpy. But it’s just a net that they’d have on and they could put leaves and other camouflage in the holes to help blend in. I’ll have to do a better one and put it up.

  3. 28 July 2011 at 6:49 am

    I have an idea you might try for the mesh, K. When an artist renders shingles on a house, they, often times, only suggest some in the shadowed area. Thus the shingles shapes become the lines of the shading. An example would be like on your guy with his back to us? Instead of filling the shadow in like you have, try putting some mesh lines there and shading lightly over that with some hatch liones allowing the criss cross pattern of the net to show through. Just an idea and I think it might work for you? Regardless, These studies are superb.
    On another note, I did do facila expression and caricature for this Halloween post here: http://lesliepaints.wordpress.com/2010/10/29/beth-parkers-halloween-challenge/ 🙂 It was fun.

  4. 4 kswann
    14 August 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks Leslie! I’m working on a couple of studies using your suggestions…I’ll put them up soon. And I love those facial expressions! You’ll have to do more for this Halloween…which seems to be sneaking up on us slowly but surely.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

