23
Oct
11

Nurse sketch

4 Responses to “Nurse sketch”


  1. 1 Littleskew
    24 October 2011 at 4:13 am

    Brilliant sketch. So detailed and moving

  2. 27 October 2011 at 10:01 am

    I like how you faded the values out down the nurse’s legs and gradually darkened the values leading to the soldier’s head and body. Cool touch in the use of your values, K!

  3. 3 Jan
    13 November 2011 at 1:17 am

    Hi Kelly, Beautiful sketch. Well done – again!

  4. 4 kswann
    21 November 2011 at 11:28 pm

    Thanks, you three, for all of your kind comments. Unfortunately Leslie, I’m not always consciously thinking about my values, most of these I see as sketches so I’m able to kid myself that I don’t have to worry about them being clean and completed and therefore well composed, but I did see certain parts as being more important so I focused on them, and that method seems to have worked well.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

