05
Jan
13

Preston Adams

Another real rough sketch

7 Responses to “Preston Adams”


  1. 2 arnoldthearmadillo
    6 January 2013 at 2:41 am

    I have to ask, are these guys straight out of your head or do you have a stash of old photos to work from?

  2. 3 kswann
    6 January 2013 at 8:23 am

    It’s a little bit of a combination. When I first started on these characters (I have to admit that was a couple of years ago), I looked at a lot of reference photos and sketched a bunch from them. I had a general idea of what each would look like (this one’s shifty looking, this one’s a veritable wall, this one’s young, this one’s older, this one has a round face, this one has a long face, etc.) and kind of “casted” the characters, as a casting director would for a film. Then I just sketched them without looking at anything and they still have some characteristics from the reference, but mostly they became their own characters. Reference helps to distinguish different “types” then they kind of morph into what they eventually become. And the best thing is that after initially coming up with these characters, I’ve actually seen people that look like my characters. It’s weird to see them walk by or be on a magazine cover, but it’s kind of a good thing too, means they’re realistic enough. I am still doing research for the gear and clothing so photos help with those.

  3. 4 arnoldthearmadillo
    6 January 2013 at 10:55 am

    Awesome, thanks. Must be a fair bit of research.

  4. 5 kswann
    6 January 2013 at 11:52 am

    Haha, yeah, one can say that. And yet I assume that there will still be things that I won’t get absolutely correct, so I’m going to rely upon truthful characters and situations, and hope I get the details as accurate as I can. It’s easy to obsess over details, but if I do that, I’ll fear I’ll never finish it!

  5. 28 February 2013 at 6:52 pm

    Great character study, K!

  6. 7 kswann
    8 March 2013 at 12:27 am

    🙂 Thanks, Leslie!


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

