01
May
14

Eatin’

Eatin'

Just a quick and unfinished sketch, like where it’s going though

3 Responses to “Eatin’”


  1. 2 May 2014 at 2:55 am

    Do you have a model for these sketches? Very good!

  2. 2 kswann
    2 May 2014 at 11:46 pm

    Thank you!

    Not exactly, but kind of; it’s a mix of reference pictures — which consist of anything from pictures I’ve taken to pictures from WWII to pictures from advertisements or articles that are completely out of context, etc. — and things I see in real life and what poses I see in my head that I want them to take.

    And the faces of each of the characters, well, they come from “casting,” which is also a bit of a mix; I know what personalities and backstories I want for my characters, so then it’s a bit of figuring out what they’d look like (young, strong, serious, angry, naive, etc. etc. etc.) then either just coming up with something that works or very often finding faces from real life and photos and kind of mixing and matching. J.T. in this case looks a bit of a mix between a particular drummer and a particular filmmaker, with glasses and a couple of features that just seem to work. And I’ve found when attempting to draw the same character but not having an exact model to pose and use, that somewhere between using reference and just drawing from memory a face seems to click and take shape, so that it’s no longer like the reference but it’s own thing.

  3. 3 May 2014 at 3:00 am

    It takes a true artist to do that.


Leave a Reply

I'm an artist writing and drawing a graphic novel that takes place during the Second World War. On this blog I will display the sketches I do in researching and preparing for the book. Check out the about page if you'd like to learn more about me, or subscribe to the RSS feed if you'd like to receive updates.

